The Bureau of Meat and Poultry Inspection is responsible for administration of the Meat and Poultry Inspection Act which protects the consumer in relation to wholesomeness, deceptive advertising and proper labeling of meat and poultry products. Inspection coverage includes all aspects of intrastate slaughter and processing from ante mortem (before death) inspection through slaughter and processing and to the retail level. The Bureau provided slaughter and/or processing inspection for 279, establishments and exempt poultry raisers during the previous fiscal year. The Bureau also licensed and inspects 664 Meat and Poultry Brokers.
The State laboratory located in Galesburg performs many tests to ensure compliance with the regulations. These tests include analysis for economic wholesomeness, antibiotic residues, as well as testing for harmful food borne bacteria. Laboratory support is provided for veterinarians in their diagnosis of conditions found in livestock presented for slaughter.
The Illinois Meat & Poultry Inspection Act is defined in the Illinois compiled statutes, Chapter 225 Paragraph 650/1 et seq. The Illinois Meat & Poultry Inspection program ... "shall comply with bulletins, manuals of procedure and guidelines issued by the United States Department of Agriculture which implement the Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Federal Poultry Inspection Act."(Title 9 Code of Federal Regulations Part 300 et seq.) There are three specific types of licenses issued by the Illinois Department of Agriculture Bureau of Meat and Poultry Inspection.
Licenses issued under the Bureau of Meat and Poultry Inspection are renewable annually with an effective date of July 1 and an expiration date of June 30.
The annual fee for each license is $50.00.
The licenses issued by the Bureau of Meat and Poultry Inspection are:
TYPE 1: Establishments issued a Type I license shall be permitted to receive live animals and or poultry and/or meat and poultry products for slaughter and processing, under inspection, by Department Personnel. Meat and/or poultry products that are produced, under inspection, and properly labeled are eligible for sale in intrastate commerce.
TYPE 2: Establishments issued a Type 2 license shall be permitted to receive live animals and/or poultry and/or meat and poultry products for slaughter and processing as a service only. Animals and poultry and/or animal and poultry products may be presented for slaughter and/or processing by the owner for the owner's own personal use in his or her household. Meat and/or poultry products processed and/or produced in a Type 2 establishment are not eligible for sale in commerce.
Reasons for restaurants and/or retail stores to be licensed as a processor:
|RESTAURANT:||A business that prepares and sells cooked meats or entrees directly to the end-consumer. A caterer is classified the same as a restaurant. If a restaurant sells to other than the end-consumer, they must be licensed as a processor with the Illinois Department of Agriculture.Examples:|
|RETAIL STORE:||A business that sells meat product to the end-consumer. An exemption to sell single ingredient red meat items to HRI account, (Hotel, Restaurant & Institutions), is give to them, but not to exceed $55,100.00 per calendar year, and $45,200 in poultry products in the pre-calendar year. This exemption is for single ingredient meat items only, and only to HRI accounts; not to another retail store.Examples of a retail store processing and selling to the following:|
If a retail store processes and sells meat products to any of the above outlined examples, they must be licensed as a processor with the Illinois Department of Agriculture.
Meat products are adulterated if they contain sodium benzoate or benzoic acid, except as permitted in accordance with the United States Department of Agriculture, (USDA).
Any person who believes he or she or any specific class of individuals has been subjected to discrimination by the Illinois Meat and Poultry Inspection Program or believes that the Illinois Meat and Poultry Inspection Program is otherwise in noncompliance with the provisions of an applicable civil rights requirement may file a complaint with the USDA Office of Civil Rights. A complainant has 180 days from the date of the alleged discriminatory action or the time that they became aware of it to file a program discrimination complaint with USDA.
Director, Office of Civil Rights
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Room 316-W Whitten Building
1400 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20250-9410
Telephone: (202) 720-5964 (Voice and TDD)