Illinois State Fair Governor, Director, Fair Manager Images of fairgoers
August 11-20, 2006
General Information Participant Information entertainment Non-Fair Events about the fair

General Information

Press Releases

August 18, 2004


 SPRINGFIELD, Ill. –Harness racing fans that thought they had missed seeing a historic race yesterday, (racehorse Maco Sika and driver Andy Miller came within a meager 1/10 of second from setting a world record) were given another chance today to see the fastest race ever clocked at the Illinois State Fair and Illinois track since harness racing began in the mid 1840’s. The dominant, Illinois bred racehorse, Enemy At The Gate, driven by hall of famer Dave Magee, who yesterday alone, became the all-time winningest driver at the Springfield track with 184 wins, added to what was another historic day by tying the all-time track record of 149.2 set by standard bred Incredible Tillie in 2000 by driver Andy Miller.

A rally was also held today on the Director’s Lawn of the Illinois State Fair Grounds. The rally, part of Governor’s Day, included a tour of the fairgrounds by Governor Blagojevich who meet and greeted fairgoers with his family.

“This kind of race shows that the Illinois Breeding Program can compete against anybody and win even against the likes of programs in New Jersey and Pennsylvania,” said President of Maywood Park Duke Johnston. “And its fun to see!”

Driver Dave Magee, who came out of the 8th hole with Enemy At The Gates to start the race, immediately went to 1st and never relinquished the lead. The horse was dominating in its performance, setting a Stakes record in the Three-Year-Old Colt Stakes at the Illinois State Fair. The historic and blistering mile of 149.2 makes Enemy At The Gate the 2nd fastest three-year-old gelding racehorse of all-time and the 10th fastest three-year-old of all-time. The Racehorse P.B. Bullville who clocked a 148.3 claims the fastest time for three-year-old geldings.  The race time was the fastest clocked in 2004 nationally for all three-year-olds in harness racing.

The triumph was Enemy At The Gate's sixth straight victory, career best time, and first race under the epic 150.0.  Enemy Of The Gate also set a track record at Hawthorne Race Track on Aug. 7 in a winning time of 150.4.

Yesterday, Dave Magee, 51, from Residence Big Rock, Ill., became the all-time Illinois State Fair leading driver with 184 victories coming into today’s program. The hall of famer added 3 more victories today, totaling 187 victories. Magee has also won 48 Illinois State Fair Colt Stake Champions adding one today. Driver Andy Miller is in second with 22 wins.

Tomorrow afternoon at the Grandstand, Illinois harness racing will showcase the Two-Year-Old Colt Stake Championship and Two-Year-Old Colt Stake Consolations at noon.

Country Music sensation LeAnn Rimes and Phil Vassar played to tune of 2,410 in attendance at the Grandstand. The Dual Demo Derby had an attendance of 872 at the Multi-Purpose-Arena. Tomorrow night the Illinois State Fair will feature the ITPA Truck and Tractor Pull at 7:30 p.m. in the Grandstand.

The 2004 Illinois State Fair runs Aug. 13-22 in Springfield.

For more updated information and results on State Fair entertainment and activities, visit the website at

Ag Day Award Winners (Results from Wednesday, August 18)
Governor’s Conservation Farm Family Walnut Creek Farms
Stillman Valley, IL
IL Farm Bureau Outstanding Farm Family Matt and Laura Bennett
Windsor, IL
IL Farmers Union Outstanding Farm Family Wayne and Pat LaForge
New Holland, IL
IL State Grange Outstanding Farm Family Roger and Sharon Miller
Belvidere, IL
National Farmers Organization of Illinois Nicholas and Tracie Stremlau
Outstanding Farm Family Mendota, IL
IL Pork Producers Association Outstanding Richard and Venita Baker & Family
Farm Family Liberty, IL
IL Beef Association Outstanding Farm Family Patrick and Dawn Fritz
Harvard, IL
R.J. Vollmer Sustainable Agriculture Farmer Paul Butler Family
Award Malta, IL
Master Farmer Stan Bluiner
Forrest, IL
Master Farmer Lamar Fesser
Morrisonville, IL
Master Farmer Tom Mueller
Taylor Ridge, IL
Master Farmer Jim Niewold
Loda, IL
Land Owner of the Year Don and Sue Meador
Lanark, IL
IL Tree Farmer Rollie and Lois Spaniol
Charleston, IL
IL Grape Growers & Vintners Association Paul Renzaglia
Best of Show Alto Vineyards and Winery
Alto Pass, IL
IL Grape Growers & Vintners Association Dennis and Brenda Vahling
Governor’s Cup Vahling Vineyards
Stewards, IL
IL 4-H Volunteer Ellen Boyd
Caryle, IL
IL 4-H Family Spirit Award Howard Peverly and Marvin Schnitzler
Families Elizabeth, IL
IL Leadership Council for Agricultural Edu. Warren Pufal
LaSalle, IL
IL Leadership Council for Agricultural Edu. Dr. Andy Baker
Macomb, IL
Perry Scheider Special Recognition Award Superintendent Schiller
By IL Leadership Council for Agriculture Edu. Springfield, IL
Perry Schneider Special Recognition Award Sandy Dunkel
By IL Leadership Council for Agricultural Edu. Springfield, IL
Elementary Teacher of the Year Kathryn Lesser
Solomon School
Chicago, IL
Excellence in Teaching Joe House
Illinois Association of Vo-Ag Teachers Princeville High School
District 1 Winner Princeville, IL
Excellence in Teaching Kent Weber
Illinois Association of Vo-Ag Teachers Seneca High School
District 2 Winner Seneca, IL
Excellence in Teaching Joe Coldwell
Illinois Association of Vo-Ag Teachers Pleasant Hill High School
District 3 Winner Pleasant Hill, IL
Excellence in Teaching Don Lockwood
Illinois Association of Vo-Ag Teachers Sullivan High School
District 4 Winner Sullivan, IL
Excellence in Teaching Larry Jones
Illinois Association of Vo-Ag Teachers Highland High School
District 5 Winner Trenton, IL
Suffolk Sheep Show
Grand Champion Ram Tom Burke Platte City, MO
Reserve Champion John Corson & Macomb, IL
Pat Evans
Grand Champion Ewe Tom Burke Platte City, MO
Reserve Champion John Corson & Macomb, IL
Pat Evans