Division of Food Safety and Animal Protection
Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare
Equine means a family of perissodactyl ungulate mammals containing a single genus, Equus, which includes horses, asses, jacks, jennies, hinnies, mules, donkeys, burros, ponies and zebras.
An "advertised equine event" is any show rodeo, exhibition, sale, auction, trail ride or horse fair that is posted or media promoted. This definition also includes all 4-H events at which horses are present, field trials, clinics, not-for-profit events, and racing events.
Illinois recognizes all tests for the detection of equine infectious anemia (EIA) that have been approved by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. This includes the Coggins and CELISA test.
Illinois DOES NOT recognize "test pending" results for EIA.
Equine residing in Illinois
Participating in an advertised equine event: All Illinois equine more than 12 months old participating in advertised equine events are required to have a negative test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) within the past 12 months if the animal is more than 12 months of age. Either an original copy or a photocopy of the current EIA test chart must accompany equine to all events.
Change of ownership: All members of the equine family moving through sales and auctions, or being loaned, leased, traded, given away or sold are required to have a negative test for EIA within the past year, if the animal is more than 12 months of age. Either an original copy or a photocopy of the current EIA test chart must accompany equine to all sales and auctions, and must be provided to the new owner. This also applies to private sales or changes of ownership. Failure to provide the new owner with a current copy of an EIA test result places the seller of the equine in violation of the Illinois Equine Infectious Anemia Control Act and subject to a $300 fine for the first violation, a $600 fine for the second violation, and a $1,000 fine for the third and subsequent violations.
Please note: A certificate of veterinary inspection and entry permit are not required for Illinois equine. Illinois equine traveling out-of-state on an Illinois certificate of veterinary inspection are not required to obtain a permit to return home. If, however, Illinois equine are out of the state longer than 30 days (i.e. breeding, training), a certificate of veterinary inspection issued by the state where the animal has been residing and an entry permit will be required. Once an animal has been out of the state longer than 30 days, it is no longer recognized as being an Illinois native animal.
Equine entering Illinois
All equine entering Illinois must be accompanied by a negative test for EIA conducted within a year if the animal is more than one year of age, certificate of veterinary inspection issued by an accredited veterinarian within 30 days of entry, and an entry permit number issued by the Illinois Department of Agriculture. An entry permit is not required for trail riding in Illinois.
NOTE: animals passing through Illinois and not being unloaded in the state are not required to obtain an entry permit number or meet Illinois entry requirements. These animals are required to meet the entry requirements for the state of destination only.
Entry permit numbers are available by calling the Illinois Department of Agriculture, Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, at 217/782-4944. Permits may also be obtained online at:
THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR OBTAINING AN ENTRY PERMIT NUMBER FROM THE ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE.
The following information will be required for the entry permit number:
- Name and mailing address of owner of the animal;
- Date of the EIA test;
- Destination location where the animal is going.
For equine only: The entry permit number is good for 30 days (the life of the health certificate). It is requested that if the health certificate is used for multiple entries (i.e. shows on several weekends) that all events during the 30 day period be included on the health certificate. If an event is not listed on the health certificate, the owner is asked to call the Department, provide the permit number and provide the location of the additional event(s).
For equine sales: A blanket permit number is available for out-of-state equine sales and auctions. For more information, please call the Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare, 217/782-4944.
In accordance with the Illinois Diseased Animals Act (510 ILCS 50/1) and the regulations pertaining thereto (8 Ill. Adm. Code 85), violators of the permit number requirement are guilty of a business offence and shall be fined not less than $50 or more than $1,000. Violators of the EIA test and certificate of veterinary inspection requirements are subject to a $300 fine for the first violation, a $600 fine for the second violation, and a $1000 fine for the third and subsequent violations.
Animal Health |Animal Health Statutes |Animal Health Regulations |Illinois Exhibition Requirements |Illinois' Achievements in Animal Health |Animal Laboratory Services |Animal Health Newsletter |Available Publications |Available Forms |Individual State Import Requirements |Equine Infectious Anemia |
Copyright © 2001
State of Illinois Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 19281, State Fairgrounds
Springfield, IL 62794-9281
(217) 524-6858 TTY